Secure Trade Limited iPhone4s




What's new in the world of scams and ScamWarners.

Secure Trade Limited iPhone4s

Postby s9504901z on Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:20 pm

i have visited st-elect.com . saw prices of iphone4s is cheaper than singapore , should i order or is it another scam ? Company name Secure Trade Limited , is a company of United Kingdom , Company Registration Number : 06582717
s9504901z
Registered Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:13 pm

Re: Secure Trade Limited iPhone4s

Postby Mike Wilson on Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:44 pm

The site is part of a scam.
The contact telephone numbers appear tobe UK numbers but they are personal redirect numbers that can forward calls to most countries.
Buying a pet online?
If the seller or shipper asks for money to be sent via Western Union, Money Gram, GreenDot MoneyPak number or mentions Cameroon it is a scam.

mikeawilsons @ gmail.com
User avatar
Mike Wilson
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: Secure Trade Limited iPhone4s

Postby s9504901z on Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:44 pm

From What i Check from Companies House uk it existed , with the correct registration number too . so is it worth giving it a risk ?
s9504901z
Registered Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:13 pm

Re: Secure Trade Limited iPhone4s

Postby Arnold on Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:09 pm

Definitely not. Scammers often misuse the identities of real businesses, and this is what is happening here. There is no chance whatsoever of this being genuine, so do not send any money. The site was registered for the minimum 12 months, typical of scam sites.
Domain Name: ST-ELECT.COM
Expiry Date: 20-Sep-2012
Creation Date: 20-Sep-2011
You can contact me either by PM or by email to arnold.d.matthews @ gmail.com. Scam related matters only please.
User avatar
Arnold
Scam Warner
Scam Warner
 
Posts: 2283
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 1:17 pm

Re: Secure Trade Limited iPhone4s

Postby Dotti on Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:10 pm

No, it's not worth the risk.

Scammers do use the names of real companies sometimes, and they will copy their UK companies house registration numbers too. That can make it that much more difficult to determine who is real and who is not--but Mike has indicated that the phone number on their website is a redirect, and that is all you need to know right there.

Legitimate UK companies will have a legitimate UK phone number. Scammers often use these redirect phone numbers. Calls to these numbers are forwarded anonymously to a phone anywhere in the world--so the caller thinks they are dialing someone in UK, but really they are calling someone in another country. These numbers are used by scammers who are not in UK but are pretending to be there. They would NOT be used by a legitimate business. If they don't have a legitimate phone number, that alone is reason to walk away.

In addition:

Domain Name: ST-ELECT.COM
Registrar: ACTIVE REGISTRAR, INC.
Whois Server: whois.activeregistrar.com
Referral URL: http://www.activeregistrar.com
Name Server: NS1.ACTIVE-DNS.COM
Name Server: NS2.ACTIVE-DNS.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 20-sep-2011
Creation Date: 20-sep-2011
Expiration Date: 20-sep-2012


The domain is 2 1/2 months old, registered for the minimum period of a year, even though the actual company listed in companies house has been registered since 2008. This is another classic sign of a scam.
dotti.gale.sw @ gmail . com

Need to post photos? http://scamwarners.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=3219
Are you a victim of a romance scam? Read here for advice and FAQ's.
User avatar
Dotti
Admin
 
Posts: 4780
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 1:17 am


Return to News and announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest