i,m also a victim of Aupair scam ukborder.office@ukba-online




Scams offering fake Au Pair positions

i,m also a victim of Aupair scam ukborder.office@ukba-online

Postby mckitty on Sun Jul 15, 2012 10:15 am

hillben237@yahoo.com this is the scammer emails....
UK Home Office ukborder.office@ukba-online.com via hotmail.com
this two email they help each other ... i really dont know that its a fake contract that the sent me .. so also sent them a money as my allowance when ill be there in u.k i only find out when they withdraw my money in western union even the name of receiver is my name ... i dont know if still have a chance to get back my money its worth 450 british pound i work hard for that i save it for 6 months to have that money..
mckitty
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 10:38 pm

Re: i,m also a victim of Aupair scam

Postby jolly_roger on Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:34 pm

I'm saddened to read your story.
re: i dont know if still have a chance to get back my money


The short answer is no. Once the receiver has collected the funds, your money is gone with no chance of recovery. I realise that is not the advice you seek, but that's the reason scammers favour wu and moneygram.
Those two mediums are quick money tranferers from one point to another and in many instances the receiver does not even have to show valid ID to collect the funds.
I'm sorry the fraudulant one has wasted your time.

Mod edit: Added quote tags for readabillity. DJ
User avatar
jolly_roger
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 1:14 pm
Location: Going against the wind....

Re: i,m also a victim of Aupair scam

Postby David Jansen on Sun Jul 15, 2012 4:33 pm

Welcome here mckitty.

I'm sorry you lost money to this scammer. And as was said above, once the scammer collects the money from the western union office, it is lost.
Could you please post the scam emails that this scammer has send you?
Being a victim doesn't mean you stand alone. We're here to help you.
User avatar
David Jansen
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:25 am
Location: Finally home

Re: i,m also a victim of Aupair scam

Postby jolly_roger on Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:36 am

Forgot to mention within the previous post but the e-mail address is all wrong. The ukba-online.com has been used in countless scams in the past.
Domain Name.. ukba-online.com
Creation Date.. 02 Aug 2011
Registration Date.. 02 Aug 2011
Expiry Date.. 02 Aug 2012
Organisation Name.. Justin Yeigel
The registration of name is for a period of 12 months only which is a common ploy of scammers

When it comes via hotmail, that would be a concern. The UK government would have it's own domain I would have thought. Thank-you for posting the story. Others will now be far less likely to become a target.
User avatar
jolly_roger
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 1:14 pm
Location: Going against the wind....

Re: i,m also a victim of Aupair scam

Postby Chris Fuller on Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:57 am

jolly_roger is correct: genuine UK Border Agency email addresses end with @ukba.gsi.gov.uk and genuine UK Home Office email addresses end with @homeoffice.gsi.gov.uk - and both of these have no words or abbreviations after that.

mckitty, I'm so sorry to hear that you have had your money stolen by this scammer. As you have so sadly discovered, scammers are able to collect Western Union or MoneyGram transfers themselves, regardless of which name the transfer has been made to. They are able to do this using the details of the transfer which, of course, they insist that you send to them, either in written form, or by sending a scan of the receipt.
User avatar
Chris Fuller
General Counsel
General Counsel
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:57 pm


Return to Au Pair Scams

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest