The world's premier anti internet scam, anti fraud information website 

  • Julius Ward, [email protected]

  • Exposed charity scams and fake fundraisers. Fraudulent organizations stealing donations meant for disaster relief, children, veterans, and other causes. 580+ cases.
Exposed charity scams and fake fundraisers. Fraudulent organizations stealing donations meant for disaster relief, children, veterans, and other causes. 580+ cases.
  by Kakigwe
 
The Rolling Jubilee is a real non-profit that I helped start. The only place that the Rolling Jubilee is collecting money is on our website: http://rollingjubilee.com

Somebody e-mailed us the following scam e-mail which is using our name.
From: "[email protected]" <[email protected]>
To: xxxx
Sent: Tuesday, January 29, 2013 9:17 AM
Subject: Donation for you

Hello,

How are you doing this morning, My name is Julius Ward by name, I'm contacting you behave of Global giving Organization, You may be wondering how and where i got your email address is through the donating and Berger website you set up your profile , My project from the Organization is to find people that are interested in donation or loan on the internet. Rolling Jubilee is to Strike Debt, help people in need until they get back on their feet and also give out loan. This is a legal and profitable Organization, You can contact me back to know if you are still looking for assistance or loans and tell me how much we can donate for you.


You can text me on (218) 451-3292 for further more, and hope to read back from you soon.

Best Regards,

Julius Ward.
I've baited the scammer a bit and found some additional info about who the person might really be, or at least the name they use on social media forums. I'm not sure if that is appropriate info to post here or not.
  by Jillian
 
Thank you for posting this, and I'm sorry to hear that a scammer is impersonating your charity. You're welcome to post any info that the scammer is using, but other info isn't likely helpful to warn victims, and I'm not sure you would be able to include enough evidence for it to be listed here. Let us know if you have questions.

Re-posting this important bit from your post for the benefit of anyone reading this:

The Rolling Jubilee is a real non-profit. The only place that the Rolling Jubilee is collecting money is on their website: http://rollingjubilee.com Any emails soliciting money are NOT from the real non-profit. If you're reading this and aren't sure if you're interacting with the real non-profit, please ask us for advice!