Craigslist, Ebay and other online buying/selling scams.
#7834 by McLovin Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:10 pm
Hi,

I almost fell for some kind of real estate scam. The scammer posted an apartment offer (which was suspicously priced) on the german site http://www.immobilienscout24.de. This site requires everyone offering an apartment for rent/sale to sign up and also to pay, so there are usually not many e-mail scams there. Not knowing it was a scam I sent an inquiry via an automatic function on the site. Today I received this:

Hello,

My name is Paul Kenneth Foltyn and I am the owner of the apartment advertised on www.immobilienscout24.de located here: Binderstraße 18, 20146 Hamburg.
I'm looking for someone to live in the apartment, as soon as possible, because my company has won an auction for a big construction project in United Kingdom, London. I'm a civil engineer, so my accommodation period here will be about 5 years. The renting period is from minimum 2 months up to 5 years. The apartment is exactly like you see in the pictures.
The apartment is fully furnished, but I have the option of sending all my furniture into storage if you want to bring your own (no extra costs). The rent for 1 month is 650 Euro (for the whole apartment) including all utilities (water, electricity, Internet, cable, parking space, air conditioning, dishwasher, garbage disposal, microwave, refrigerator). You can move in the apt in the same day you receive the keys. The only problem is that I`m already in London because we started the work, but you don't need to worry because I have made all arrangements to rent the apartment from here.

Thank you for your interest and I will look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,
Paul Foltyn

It's probably the same scheme that's discussed here:
http://www.munsterfans.com/forum/forum_ ... 7327&TPN=1
Advertisement

#7835 by The Enchantress Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:56 pm
Welcome to Scamwarners McLovin.